Resignation

Sadly I have resigned from the council. Whilst I wanted to serve my community it became very clear that others wished to further themselves rather than the community. It also became evident over many months that decisions were decided outside the chamber with the perpetrators ensuring that they had enough voting support.

I tried to ask questions about what the training plan for staff and councillors was on two separate occasions but on neither would one other councillor discuss the issue. This related to the precept and why I and my neighbours (as rate payers)  was expected to pay out money for training. My only assumption can therefore be that they have no plan not just for training but for anything else we have to pay for via the precept….so why are we paying it? and it goes on…..

My mind wandered further and I began to question who really checks that councils are working fairly, for the people, and providing the services that they are designed to meet.

I guess it’s the people but as many of the people are not aware, are too busy or in some cases don’t care no one does. Who do we turn to as residents when the council is not acting appropriately?

If we were talking about schools there is Her Majesty’s Inspectorate as is there in health and other department but not for local town and parish councils. Well not that I could find, I did try to make my district council aware but to no avail.

With this in mind I think we should all be lobbying for a recognised inspectorate of councils that checks that parish and town councils. I further add that I think there should be on the spot inspections as it is only then that practices that are not in keeping with policy, the law or for the people will come to light.

If you are interested in this please share.

About Educationsupportuk

My Devon is a blog that collates all the things I like, (especially food) in Devon ...and sometimes further afield. Education SupportUK blog collates stories and research relating to pedagogy, policy, strategy and process on all areas of education.
This entry was posted in Liz Foxwell, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

