Birthday cards and Christmas 2012

Epiphany is nearly here so its time to think about undressing the house and going back to normal until 13th december next year.  Traditionally because my birthday is 13th December one of my presents is the christmas tree but only after I have opened all the rest! We celebrate symmetrically 12 days before and twelve days after and look forward to the king’s arrival on the 6th January.

Every year since being married we have had a colour scheme and this year was no exception we rejoiced with red/white and silver.

Firstly let me share my favourite birthday cards.  I am really lucky being part of the cross stitch club in Kingsteignton means that I have cards and silks for my birthday – it makes it really special.  At cross stitch club we are known by our flower names and I am daffodil which also happens to be my favourite flower. Not surprising then that my one favourite was this one from one of the other members Cynthia.

Birthday Card

Birthday Card

 

The other joint favourite was actually from my mum, but as her cross stitch pseudonym Geranium. (YES, she does have to get me two cards… but so so I lol). Not only did I have a lovely daffodil yellow silk but this card of my favourite breed of dog not dissimilar to my pet Emma. NB. I bet you didnt guess they were hand-made.

Border Collie Card

Border Collie Card

So here is the christmas tree with the fairy topper that my Nan gave me and we used when I was knee-high to a grasshopper as the saying goes. I can’t believe she must be at least 50 years old..she is wearing better than me.

Christmas tree 2012

Christmas tree 2012

As well as the tree I get out the nativity scene that I bought in Bethlehem made of Olive wood at least 35 years ago.

Nativity scene

Nativity scene

We try to package our gifts to each other in the themed paper here was one I packaged for John.

Christmas wrap 2012

Christmas wrap 2012

When the nephews come and visit in the october half term I am now getting them to make christmas items and this is one that Owain for the first year made himself from scratch.  He got some boxes, decoupatched them, and was certain about what colour he wanted and for who. The he filled them with sweets. wrapped them all hisself with just sellotape pulling off by me and then used a craft pack to create his own labels and here is one completed package.  A brilliant job Owain x

Owain wrap and tag

Owain wrap and tag

One of the things John and I did was to visit Saltram and took part in some carol singing with my mum and dad and Santa!

St Nicholas

St Nicholas

And we also had a meal in Brixham on our annual run in the car around the rea to look for houses lit with christmas lights and thought this was really good particularly as Brixham is a port and the boats are in and out with the tide.

I saw three ships come sailing by.

I saw three ships come sailing by.

And so to making

I made this

Sewn Christmas Card

Find a sticker and place on card. make the holes, sew through holes. Then cut out and stick onto the card using glue dots or 3D foam pads.

My Mum cross stitched a stocking each for John and I years ago but we still use them here is mine.

Liz Stocking

Liz Stocking

 

and I made a cushion cover.

Cushion Cover

Cushion Cover

 

and also a gift tag for John

 

Gift tag

Gift tag

 

Finally presents day came and this was a favourite.

Christmas table arrangement

Christmas table arrangement

Roll on a brilliant and happy 2013 for everyone of my readers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Educationsupportuk

My Devon is a blog that collates all the things I like, (especially food) in Devon ...and sometimes further afield. Education SupportUK blog collates stories and research relating to pedagogy, policy, strategy and process on all areas of education.
Gallery | This entry was posted in cards, Christmas, flower arrangement, Kingsteignton, Rhiannon Foxwell, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

